Haryana Assembly pays homage to CDS General Bipin Rawat, his wife, others

SGT Times Reporter

Chandigarh, December 17

On the first day of the Winter Session of Haryana Vidhan Sabha which commenced here today, obituary resolutions were passed to pay heartfelt tributes to those prominent personalities who have expired between the period from the end of the previous session and the beginning of the current session.

Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar paid tributes and read out the obituary resolutions. These included Chief of Defence Staff, General Bipin Rawat, Brigadier Lakhwinder Singh Lidder and other victims of the helicopter crash, former Member of Parliament, Freedom Fighters of Haryana, Martyrs of Haryana, and close relatives of members of Haryana Vidhan Sabha. The house also observed silence to pay homage to the departed souls.

Haryana Vidhan Sabha Speaker Gian Chand Gupta read out the obituary resolutions and paid tributes to the departed souls. Leader of the Opposition Bhupinder Singh Hooda also read out the obituary resolutions on behalf of his party.

These included Chief of Defence Staff, General Bipin Rawat, his wife Madhulika Rawat, Brigadier Lakhwinder Singh Lidder of district Panchkula, Group Captain Varun Singh, Lieutenant Colonel Harjinder Singh, Wing Commander Prithvi Singh Chauhan, Squadron Leader Kuldeep Singh, Junior Warrant Officer Rana Pratap Das, Junior Warrant Officer Pradeep Arakkal, Havildar Satpal Rai, Naik Gursewak Singh, Naik Jitender Kumar, Lance Naik Vivek Kumar, Lance Naik B. Sai Teja and former Member of Parliament Hari Singh Nalwa.

Tributes were also paid to five freedom fighters namely Lajpat Rai Yadav of village Lookhi, District Rewari Kehar Singh of village Lakhnaura, District Ambala Nand Lal of village Palhawas, District Rewari Ram Gopal of village Dighal, District Jhajjar, and Hira Singh of village Chindalia, District Mahendragarh, who played a significant role in attaining the freedom of our country. The House conveyed its heartfelt condolences to the members of the bereaved families.

The House also paid tributes to 16 martyrs who showed indomitable courage and made supreme sacrifice of their lives while safeguarding the unity and the integrity of the motherland. These include Major Anuj Rajput, Panchkula, Master Chief Petty Officer Om Pal Singh, village Kheri Talwana, District Mahendragarh, Subedar Rishipal, village Sambhli, District Karnal, Sub Inspector Jai Narayan, village Kheri Sampla, District Rohtak, Assistant Sub Inspector Bansilal Yadav, village Khatod, District Mahendragarh, Havildar Bijender Singh, village Kharak Punia, District Hisar, Havildar Sandeep Kumar, village Dhakla, District Jhajjar, Commando Hanuman, village Milakpur, District Bhiwani, Naik Vikas Balyan, village Majri, District Jhajjar, Naik Jaipal Gill, village Hansawala, District Fatehabad, Sepoy Pawan Chauhan, village Ratan Thal, District Rewari, Sepoy Rajesh Kumar, village Nandha, District Charkhi Dadri, Sepoy Gurjaint Singh, village Raimajra, District Kurukshetra, Sepoy Tarun Bhardwaj, village Bhondsi, District Gurugram, Sepoy Gurdeep Singh, village Thol, District Kurukshetra and Sepoy Harpreet Singh, village Jahangirpur, District Ambala. The House conveyed its heartfelt condolences to the members of the bereaved families. Besides this, the house also paid tribute to Police constable Sandeep Narwal who was killed in an encounter with miscreants in Dehradun.

Apart from this, the House placed on record its deep sense of sorrow on the sad demise of Nirmala Devi, sister-in-law of Nayab Singh, MP, Shweta Bishnoi, daughter-in-law of Dura Ram, MLA, Farhan, grandson of Mohammad Ilyas, MLA, Dhanpat Rai, brother of Dharam Pal Gonder, MLA, Waheed Ahmed, cousin of Mamman Khan, MLA and Bhagwani Devi and Gudiya Rani, sisters of Balbir Singh, MLA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *